What’s happening in the kitchen…

There has been much happening in the Cozee Shack Kitchen.

First thing we tackled, and I am not sure why this didn’t happen sooner, is the broom closet that was next to the fridge.  It held A broom and nothing else.

pantryBEFORE

When I brought the kitchen table in, the hoosier cabinet that held EVERYTHING had to go.  It was just too big.  But I had no idea where I would put everything that was in it.  I had thought that we could add shelves to the broom closet and that could be my little pantry.

I had shelves in the garage, so all we had to do was cut them to size and hang 1×2’s to hold them up.  This project was super easy and only took about 2 hours (we did have to search for 1×2’s, go to the store for a level and I had to measure boxes and bottles and plan the height of each shelf, only to use 1 standard height for all, except the bottom).


After we moved in, I thought that I wanted to remove the wall between the living room and the kitchen.  I loved the cozee feeling of the living room and the kitchen and I felt that if I opened up the whole wall, I would lose that feeling.  I didn’t love that when I was in the kitchen, I couldn’t hear or be apart of anything going on in the living room and I really wanted to have some of the light from the living room in the dungeon kitchen.  We settled on a pass through and started that project, hoping it would be a weekend thing, or even 2 weekends.

This is the same wall being shared by the kitchen and living room before the demo started.

The first break through
This is the first peek into what’s behind the wall.  At this point, if it looks bad, we could always hang our large mirror back up and pretend this never happened.  Unfortunately, the outlet that is there has the conduit running up so this project has been put on hold until we could get a licensed electrician out to look at it.  He came out last weekend and sadly, the wiring isn’t as bad as it could be, but it’s old and doesn’t function properly.  So, he is coming back out next weekend to spruce up all the wonky wiring.  Apparently, everything on the south side of the house is on one breaker.  It’s one of those non-visual things that you spend money on, but can’t see, which is not my favorite.

Here’s what it looks like currently:
hole in the wallIt’s pretty awesome even with the wood and conduit!

And then in that corner where the apron hangs, will be a desk.  I need a permanent home for the laptop and a place for pens and pencils and paper.  But I needed to know that I am not making a mistake and piling more furniture into an already crowded room.  I measured the maximum size the desk should be and then thought about building one…

desk

I found this dresser/night stand at a resale shop.  But I had to know if there was a top on it, would it be too much.  The Boyfriend headed out for the evening and I was on a mission.  I needed to know if this would work and the only way I would know, was to see it…so, I cut out a piece of cardboard in the size I thought it should be and stared at it.  It was fantastic!  But maybe it was just me, maybe I was the only one who “saw” it.  I sent the pics by text to my friend, my mom and aunt and got mixed reviews.  The Boyfriend came home and LOVED it!  But just to make 100% sure it would work, we lived with it for a few days and decided it was a keeper.  In fact, I forgot that it was only cardboard and attempted to set stuff on it regularly, only to have the cardboard collapse.
I can’t finish the desk until the pass through is done, so it’s a work in progress, but here’s a sneak peek at the dresser now:

deskafter

We can’t be adding more natural wood, now can we?  I can’t wait to show you the finished project – hoping it turns out like I see it in my head!  😉

Stay tuned for more to come…

Leave a Reply

